First Day in Madrid as a Solo Female Traveler

Long Flight and I wouldn’t recommend Aer Lingus. They were super rude to my next door neighbor on the plane. To sum it up, my neighbor asked for coffee very politely. The guy said “I have to serve others before I come back”. Of course, he never came back and when she politely asked again, the guy was a jerk about it. He said “There is no coffee left”. Didn’t apologize and said some other rude comments. He came back and rudely told my neighbor to put her bag under the seat and she said “Don’t worry, I will”. She was pissed at this point so it became a battle off between the two and I was in the crossfire. He was FUMING! “Put your bag under your seat NOW!” he exclaimed. He called the manager over as a personal vendetta. Of course the flight attendant was going to have the manager on his side, but what I witnessed was terrible customer service on Aer Lingus’ part towards a guest. He wanted to get back at her, which was even worse. The lady put her purse under the seat and the man started yelling. I looked around and saw that other people’s bags were sticking out under the seat and that this manager was doing this as a favor for the rude flight attendant. I was uncomfortable because everyone on the plane was staring at our section because of this quarrel. I told the guy “in her defense, the flight attendant was very rude”. He still maintained to yell at the lady for a good “5” minutes. Needless to say, it all worked out and the lady next to me was super pissed. I told her to complain to Aer Lingus through a written report. Anyways, enough about that. My concern was what bus to take to the downtown city.

They have these new expressways. http://www.esmadrid.com/en/barajas-airport-express I believe it was a blue bus, but they run 24 hours! The final destination is Atocha Renfe where you can hit up the metro, RENFE trains or other buses.

Super convenient and only 2 Euros! I’m not going to pay 25 Euros for a taxi ride to get stuck in traffic! It was great! I loaded up my bags on the rack and found a seat to sit down next to a Spaniard. While we were in traffic going towards Madrid, the glass door shattered due to a rock. The rock was either thrown by some mischievous kids or just hit the door. Slowly but surely, the plexi type glass started to peel down into pieces on the floor. I couldn’t pay attention to anything else.

Got off at Atocha RENFE and then proceeded to the nearest Metro to get to La Latina station via Metro. If you have luggage, look for the Ascensor (Elevator/Lift) so that you don’t have to lug luggage up and down like I did. I purchased a 10 trip ticket that I read about in Rick Steve’s. I got stuck a bit in the ticket entrance with my luggage. I somehow managed to get to La Latina and then lugged my luggage through hot weather. I was on Calle Bailen and then figured out that if I looked at tile numbers then I could find my destination to Abracadabra Bed and Breakfast. I had to look for a 39 (1degree). I found it, buzzed the bell and someone answered. I just yelled out “Esta Lisa Hendricks.” The door buzzed and then I didn’t know where to go. I walked into a dark hallway and didn’t know what to do. Finally I walked a bit more and looked at the upstairs spiralway. A lady yelled out “Ariba”. So I lugged up my luggage and checked in. I was greeted by Norma. She didn’t speak English, so I somehow managed to ask her if I could leave my luggage. She left it in a hallway room, which I was worried about. I grabbed what I needed till check in time (1:00 P.M. ish)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I got a map, my camera and some money and headed down towards Palacio Real, an area which I am semi familiar with. I popped into a corner cafe literally across the street from Iglesias del Almuden. I ordered a bocadillo. As I was eating my bocadillo, a nun was crossing the street. I knew I was in Spain and close to a church. The other thing that I appreciated while I was eating my bocadillo, was the imprint on the bread. Another reminder that Madrid was going to bring me some GOOD EATS!

A nun crossing the street close to the Almuden Cathedral & Palacio Real

 

Imprint on bread! Pay attention to detail in Spain! Wash it down with a Tinto de Verano (lighter version Sangria)

DIRECTIONS TO ABRACADABRA BED AND BREAKFAST

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! As a female solo traveler, I felt safe. Didn’t stay out too late, but if I did, I felt safe walking home. Also, Eduardo and his wife Norma are an absolute gem of couple! They told me everything that I needed to know about Madrid. Great place to meet people in the morning at breakfast. You can come home knowing that there is not going to be people partying in their rooms. You can sleep! It might get a bit noisy in the late morning, but I didn’t mind it too much. Also, there is no air conditioning. There is a ceiling fan. Wasn’t a problem. Bathrooms are separate, but that wasn’t a problem either.

From the airport

From T1 – T2 – T3 – T4 get the Metro Line 8, with direction Nuevos Ministerios. Get off at Nuevos Ministerios (connection with Line 10).

Get Metro Line 10 with direction Puerta del Sur. Get off at Alonso Martinez (connection Linea 5).

Get Metro Line 5 with direction Casa de Campo. Get off at La Latina.

When you arrive to La Latina station take the street of the theater and look for San Francisco’s church (300 mts straight). San Francisco is at Bailen street, turn right 100 mts. Abracadabra B&B is there.

From Chamartín train station:

Get Metro Line 10 with direction Puerta del Sur. Get off at Alonso Martinez (connection Linea 5).

Get Metro Line 5 with direction Casa de Campo. Get off at La Latina.

When you arrive to La Latina station take the street of the theater and look for San Francisco’s church (300 mts straight). San Francisco is at Bailen street, turn right 100 mts. Abracadabra B&B is there.

From Atocha train station:

Get Metro Line 1 with direction Pinar de Chamartin. Get off at Tirso de Molina.

Ask for La Latina metro station. When you arrive to La Latina station take the street of the theater and look for San Francisco’s church (300 mts straight). San Francisco is at Bailen street, turn right 100 mts. Abracadabra B&B is there.

Address: Calle Bailén 39 (1° D), Madrid, España. C.P. 28005.

Metro: La Latina (Line 5) or Tirso de Molina (Line 1)

Contact: info@abracadabrabandb.com , or through our contact page or our telephones:

Mobile A: 0034 (656 859 784)

Mobile B: 0034 (653 776 444

Leave a Reply

