Great Breakfast in La Jolla: The Cottage: San Diego

For all of you serious breakfast eaters, looking for great breakfast spots is critical. My boyfriend and I judge breakfast joints by their bacon. I also judge a breakfast joint by their pancakes and fresh fruit. The Cottage in La Jolla is one of the best breakfast spots in San Diego!

The Cottage in La Jolla

AMBIENCE:

By far, you cannot go wrong with this place. I honestly don’t think I have ever heard a single complaint about this place, except for the wait. I have been living in La Jolla for almost 8 years and this is my “GO TO” spot. It’s a cute cottage that has a Cape Code feel about it. There is outdoor patio seating and I would say that it seats about 40-60 customers if completely filled. There are booths,   2 tops and several 4 tops that can be combined for parties of 5 or more. When the weather is gorgeous outside like it has been this whole summer, it is bumping with business. Their portions are good sized and the ingredients are fresh. They usually have complimentary coffee, and some coffee cake for people who are eagerly waiting for a seat. There are a few benches in front of the restaurant to sit down and wait. If you are going to have breakfast here, after 9:00 A.M. you are most certainly going to wait and if the weather is great, you could wait for 30 minutes or more. If you are an early bird, come here at 7:30 A.M. when they open, you’ll get a table within seconds. Even by 8:00 A.M. you should have a prime seat. They have indoor seating if the weather is cold, rainy or if you just prefer to be indoors.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

I highly recommend their fruit bowl. It runs about $8.95 and is filled with luscious strawberries, fresh bananas, tangy blueberries, sweet pineapple, firm grapes and delicious creme fraiche. I swear I could drink the creme fraiche by itself it is so fantastic! The fruit bowl can be easily shared with 3 people. When my mom and I ordered the fruit bowl the other day, we asked for a to go box and took it to the beach with us for later.

Source: roadfood.com (This pic of the fruit bowl is missing the creme fraiche in the middle. Served in a ramikin)

Their iced tea is super refreshing. It’s more of a tropical iced tea if you are the traditionalist. Before I leave, I ask for an iced tea to go. They garnish them with oranges.

Source: http://www.dchowphotography.com (Refreshing Iced Tea at the Cottage)

Their french toast is a major talked about item on the menu. I have ordered it only a couple times because the portion is SO BIG! You can order a 1/2 portion, just ask your server. It’s a stuffed french toast and could literally feed an army! This is a perfect breakfast item to split with a hungry friend or loved one! Look at those luscious strawberries and fresh bananas!

Source: foodspotting.com

Of course, there is always my top recommendation, the fried egg sandwich! It was recommended to me by one of veteran servers at the Cottage. I was always in the habit of ordering the same thing. She broke me out of my mold and got me to order something different. Boy, was I glad I did! This fried egg sandwich has fresh arugula nestled within the sandwich and has thinly sliced red onion that gives it a zest in each bite. The Fried egg is either cooked over easy or over medium and oozes yellow yolk with each bite. Sounds kind of funny, but is SOOOOO GOOOOD! Also featured on this sandwich is lemon aioli, gruyere cheese and apple smoked bacon! The grilled sourdough crunch along with the running egg yolk is a taste of heaven.

    Source: www.yelp.com

Their benedicts and their omelettes are always a favorite with locals and tourists. I have tried their California benedict. When I’m not that hungry, I can order just one benedict and a side of something. It’s a perfect healthy breakfast for someone watching their calories. It never hurts to just ask the servers, who are SUPER NICE!

Source: livelaughnom.com  (Tuscan Omelette filled with brie, chicken, mushrooms & tomatoes)

If you are the Continental Breakfast type of eater, you can go for something like their pumpkin nut muffin, their delicious sugary crusted top scones, their king kong bran muffin or their delicious steel cut oatmeal with a topping of fruit.

Source: www.yelp.com (Steel cut oatmeal topped with walnuts & bananas)

Indulge, unwind and enjoy the beautiful setting of the Cottage while sipping on a crisp and tangy Mimosa! It will make your breakfast even more special.

Source: http://www.facebook.com

Other pics to get you on that bicycle or car so that get to the Cottage sooner than ME! Have a great breakfast!

Source: 10best.com

Source: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/ (Benedict)

Source: lajollabluebook.com

Of course, after having breakfast, you have to make your way to the cove and check out the beautiful gem like colors of the ocean! Have a great time at the Cottage and in La Jolla!

5 thoughts on “Great Breakfast in La Jolla: The Cottage: San Diego

  1. Dear Travelista: I stumbled across this blog looking for something else entirely. As it happened, my wife and I are celebrating our anniversary by spending several days in San Diego. We were planning to go to Torrey Pines State Reserve this morning and had not settled on a breakfast place. Voila! Your article on The Cottage. Seemed foolish to ignore the coincidence (and your glowing review). So that’s where we ate this morning. Absolutely fabulous. My wife was excited because her eggs benedict were perfectly cooked and the hollandaise was real. I don’t usually get excited by egg breakfasts, but the wild mushroom frittata was, in fact, exciting. Great experience, great recommendation. Thank you.

    • Thanks for visiting my website! I love good experiences and love to maximize my time! Glad you both could enjoy a little taste of San Diego! Hope the weather was great and that Jason, the manager stopped by and chatted! It’s a great place!!! Their scone is delicious!!! Hope you go back soon!!!

Leave a Reply

